The Society's seal and three photographs

About us

 How SANT is governed

We are formally constituted under a set of Statutes, last revised in January 2005, and are a charity, registration number 230888. We produce an Annual Report and Accounts, and submit yearly returns to the Charity Commissioners.

We are governed by a council consisting of the President (elected at three-yearly intervals), the Past-Presidents, the elected officers (five Vice-Presidents, the Treasurer, the Secretaries, the Librarian, and the Editor, plus the Keeper of Collections, and up to 14 ordinary members of the Society.

All ordinary members of the Society are welcome to stand for election to office or the Council; nominations signed by the nominator and a seconder, and accompanied by the written consent of the nominee, should arrive in the hands of the Secretary by the last Wednesday in the November of any given year. Follow this link for the Nomination Form. This must be signed by the nominator and a supporter (who have to be members) and accompanied by a signed statement from the nominee (who also has to be a member), that they are wiling to be nominated. It is also permissible to do this by e-mail, without  literal signatures. People can simply declare in an e-mail message they want to stand, and have e-mails from their proposer and supporter.

All members of Council are expected to declare their interests each year. Follow this link for the policy paper and declaration form.

Follow these links for the Statutes of the Society, and the Standing Orders of its Council and committees.

We are represented on the University Museum and Gallery Board, which oversees the running of the Great North Museum: Hancock, the Hatton Art Gallery and the Resource Centre and Store at Discovery Museum. A copy of the Board's terms of reference is available from our Secretary on request.

Our Data Protection Policy was agreed at the Council Meeting on 2 May 2018, in line with the General Data Protection Regulations. Additional material was included on 19 May 2018. The policy will be reviewed at each May Council Meeting in future years. Our registration number with the Information Commissioner's Office is A8266316.

Follow thhis link for our Health and Safety policy.

Holding Trustees

Follow this link for details of Council Members,committees, and representatives on other bodies for  2020

A full list of all officers and committee for past years, including a note of their degrees and other qualifications, is included in the Society's Annual Report for each year.

You can reach any of the officers or committees of the Society by contacting the Hon. Secretary, Graeme Stobbs, by e-mail, or by writing to him at the Society's Office

Members of the Society's Council (only) can see copies of Council meeting papers by clicking here

In the future, don’t forget your past